Travelogue Jordan 2011

Jordan? Would you come up with Jordan when thinking about your next vacation? Well, I certainly did not, it was Gabi’s idea. When she went to Iran years ago someone told her about Jordan’s beauty, about landscape, nature and people – and this person certainly was right. So if you don’t have plans yet, if your vacation will be in spring or autumn and if you have at least two, better three weeks then go to Jordan: phantastic landscapes, 2000 year old culture heritage sites, good food and nice people.

To start with people: who travelled to Egypt, especially the tourist regions at the Red Sea, and who ever left his or her hotel might think very badly about contact with Arab people: that they will try to sell you whatever, never let go and often try to cheat you. Please, don’t generalize! That’s not like all Arabs are. And in Jordan it might be hard to find any such person. Well, according to our expierence there is one exception and they might try to cheat you at filling stations (see Organization). But apart from that we always felt felcome and never hustled. We could even stop in front of souvenir shops, watching the displays and walk on without any further discussions with the shop owner: try this in Hurghada!

How often have we heard the question "Where are you from?" And when we answered, the reaction was often "Ah, Alemania!" and then quite often "I love Germany. Klose! Schweinsteiger!" And they always ended the short talk with "Welcome to Jordan!".

On the following pages you will find organizational tips for travelling Jordan, photos and short notes about our trip and the route we took.

Jordanien: Wadi Rum
in the footsteps of Lawrence of Arabia in Wadi Rum

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben top

Reisebericht Jordanien 2011

Jordanien – wer denkt denn schon hieran, wenn er auf Reisen gehen will? Ich wäre im Leben nicht draufgekommen. Jordanien war also Gabis Idee. Als sie vor Jahren im Iran war, hatte ihr jemand von diesem Land vorgeschwärmt – und wir können nur sagen: derjenige hatte Recht. Wenn Ihr also noch keine Pläne für den nächsten Urlaub habt, wenn die Jahreszeit passt (Frühling oder Herbst) und Ihr mindestens zwei Wochen, besser drei, Zeit habt, dann fahrt nach Jordanien: fantastische Landschaften, 2000 Jahre alte Kultur, leckeres Essen und nette Menschen.

Gleich etwas zu letzteren: Wer Tourismus aus Ägypten kennt, speziell am Roten Meer, und wer dort mal sein Hotel verlassen hat, der denkt oft mit Grausen an den Kontakt mit Arabern, die einem ständig Dinge andrehen wollen, nicht locker lassen und oft genug versuchen, einen übers Ohr zu hauen. Verallgemeinert bitte nicht! Das gilt bei weitem nicht für alle Araber. Und für Jordanien gilt es überhaupt nicht. Naja, laut unserer Erfahrung mit einer kleinen Ausnahme an den Tankstellen, siehe Organisation. Ansonsten fühlten wir uns wirklich willkommen und niemals bedrängt. Sogar vor Souvenir-Geschäften konnte man stehen bleiben, ins Schaufenster sehen und weitergehen ohne bequatscht zu werden.

Wie oft haben wir hier die Frage gehört „Where are you from?“ Und auf unsere Antwort folgte oft ein „Ah, Alemania!“ und dann recht häufig „I love Germany. Klose! Schweinsteiger!“. Und immer endete das kurze Gespräch mit „Welcome to Jordan!“

Auf den folgenden Seiten findet Ihr zunächst ein paar Hinweise zur Organisation und dann Fotos und kurze Berichte entlang unserer Reiseroute.

Jordanien: Wadi Rum
Auf den Spuren von Lawrence of Arabia im Wadi Rum

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben nach oben