Hiking through Valle Sagrado, the Sacred Valley of the Incas: Chinchero; Moray, the laboratory of the Incas; Salineras near Maras. Ollantaytambo: Ruins and horse riding.

Travelogue Peru 2006
Valle Sagrado – The Sacred Valley of the Incas

March 10th, 2006

Dear Friends,

My last reported ended in Cusco, the former capitol of the Inca Empire. The next morning we took our day packs again, left the big backpacks in the hotel and went off to explore the sacred valley of the Incas.

First stop was Lake Piuray, next to the village Chinchero. We walked its shore for an hour and enjoyed the beautiful landscape which actually resembles the Allgaeu a lot, a region at the feet of the Alps I am very familiar with: fields, pastures, cattle and mountains on the horizon.

Peru, Valle Sagrado (Sacred Valley of the Incas): Chinchero
The surroundings of Chinchero in Valle Sagrado, the Sacred Valley of the Incas, look very much alike the Allgaeu, a southern part of Germany.


Peru, Valle Sagrado (Sacred Valley of the Incas): Moray
Moray: The laboratory of the Incas

We then returned to the street and continued on the bus for a couple of kilometers. To reach the village Maras, we had to take a colectivo. A colectivo is normally a station wagon, a taxi, which takes several passengers on a more or less fixed route. In this case we were nine passengers plus luggage. In Maras we rented the same taxi for a tour to Moray, close to the village. In Moray the Incas used some funnel like craters where specific geographical conditions result in enormous temperature differences from the bottom to the top of the crater, up to 12 degrees Celsius. They built terraces in the slopes and it is believed that the Incas used these terraces to breed new kinds of crop, most important acclimatizing corn to high altitudes. Maybe they even covered the walls in silver and gold to create even higher temperatures in the craters. Hence Moray is also called the „Inca Laboratory”. Corn did not grow in the mountains in ancient times and it might have been impossible to create an empire as large as the Inca’s (15 million inhabitants?) without cultivating corn. Our taxi driver led us through the ruins and waited a little more till we saw everything and took our pictures. Then he drove us to the Salineras, another attraction close to Maras.

Peru, Valle Sagrado (Sacred Valley of the Incas): Salineras near Maras
The Salineras near Maras

At the Salineras there are natural volcanic springs which seem to pass through salt depots before coming to the surface and therefore the waters are saturated with salt. Maybe since thousands of years the inhabitants of the area have collected those waters in several thousand basins where the water evaporates leaving the salt. Till today it is collected without machines and carried away on donkeys. Nowadays those sites have lost there importance due to cheaper industrial salt production from sea water but the Salineras are still in use. Our driver left us here. We walked down through the salt terraces and a valley till we reached the main street between Urubama and Ollantaytambo.

Travelling by bus is as easy in Peru as in most parts of Latin America (i.e. apart from Argentina and Chile): wait next to the road, normally no longer than fifteen minutes, signalize to the driver that you want to get on the bus and the bus will pick you up wherever you stand and however full the bus is.

A couple of minutes later we reached Ollantaytambo, the last town / village where normal tourists can catch the bus to Machu Picchu. Whoever wants to visit Machu Picchu has no other choice but taking the train, even those who do the Inca Trail have to take the train as there is no other way back. The prices are extremely high for a short ride. I am not sure if the prices are justified or if it is ripping off tourists as the railway winds through many deserted valleys before arriving in Aguas Calientes. But I will write about Aguas Calientes a little later. By the way, the train to Machu Picchu is operated by the same (British?) company as the Orient Express.

Peru, Valle Sagrado (Sacred Valley of the Incas): The ruins of Ollantaytambo
The ruins of Ollantaytambo

Ollantaytambo is not only a doorway to Machu Picchu but has its own magnificent ruins which we visited early next morning. Normally it is a good investment to spend a couple of dollars for a local guide; they are often very knowledgeable and tell lots of stories. But you have to be careful, don’t believe every word. The guides will tell you a lot of „facts“ but as I wrote earlier one knows little about the Incas and their culture. The guides normally have no other training than doing their job, talking to other guides, reading the one or the other book and picking up different things. I often heard things which are questionable or simple wrong (to be honest, some of the false stories are excellent). Fortunately South American Explorers sold me „Exploring Cusco” by Peter Frost, I heard that some travellers call it “The Bible” for travelling the region (South American Explorers might be the only place where you can by it). The book can not substitute a guide but it can help to tell right from wrong and it gives many details the guides don’t know or do not mention.

Peru, Cusco: Falscher Inka Altar in Qoricancha

The reconstruction of ruins: If you take stone the Spaniards crafted (foot of a column?) and turn it upside down you easily obtain an altar, label it "Sacrifice Room" and all the tourists will see human blood flowing in their imaginations.

Another annotation has to be made on the ruins themselves. They are mostly very impressive but hardly anyone tells you that they have not only been freed from plants but were often widely reconstructed. That looks very fine, in Spanish they call it even “poner en valor” – “to make it worth something”, but often it is not reconstruction but modelling the reconstructor’s imagination. In the Inca temple Qoricancha in Cusco you can find a very good example: in a certain place they installed a Colonial-era reworked stone (the base of a column?) upside down (!), making it look like an alter and labelled the place “Sacrifice Room”. Nobody tells you, you got to read “The Bible”. On the other hand this information might be wrong, too, but I trust it more than most of the guides I heard.

Peru, Cusco: Inca Wall with jaguar
Those stones are not only fitted so closely into each other that there is no room for even a razor blade. They’re also part of a big mosaic; you can find head and forepaws of a Jaguar on this photo.

I will not write too much about the ruins themselves. You have to see them, to get a feeling for the places and the history. Later I will put pictures on my homepage.

Some might call me a heretic but the ruins of the Incas did not impress me as much as those of Tikal (travelogue German only). Maybe the reason is that most of them are hardly older than 500 years. Then again, the Incas’ masonry is very impressive: stones, some weighing over 100 tons, were fitted so closely into each other that there is no room for even a razor blade. In those constructions they did not use any kind of cement but most of them survived sever earthquakes undamaged. But this kind of construction was reserved to very special buildings; more ordinary houses were built from stones and mud probably with similar techniques they used in Europe around that time.


Peru, Valle Sagrado (Sacred Valley of the Incas): Horse riding near Ollantaytambo
Horse riding near Ollantaytambo

After some two hours we returned to the hotel where horses were waiting for us. They took us on a beautiful trip through remote nature passing more ruins and tiny villages. Unfortunately they did not want to gallop though I had hoped for some more real riding (compare travelogue Tupiza, 2003). Maybe some day I have to try riding in Germany as my quota of good rides (as opposed to beautiful horseback walks) in Latin America is only one out of four now.

next travelogue

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben top

Your comments about my travelogues

Since May 2011 it is possible to post comments about my travelogues, e.g. if you visited the same place or were inspired by my reports or pictures.

2 comments abount Travelogue Peru 2006 – Valle Sagrado – The Sacred Valley of the Incas

  1. Zunaid Kotwal says:

    M planning 2 backpack S/america esp machu pichhu-inca civilization. Chile & brazil. plan 2 fly 2 Brazil immediately fly 2 peru & work my way down 2 chile & back 2 brazil. can you maybe suggest a possible route & interestig places 2 c on the way. plan 2 travel with my wife & 2 children.is it safe. thenking you in advance

    • Hello Zunaid,

      Congratulations, you are going to visit a great place. I can not give you more recommendations than are available on the website already. If you plan to go to Chile consider going through Bolivia and have a look what I did there in 2003. My personal attitude in regards to safety can be found in my FAQ.

      Best,

      Volker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Please note:

Pfeil nach oben top

Wanderung durch das Valle Sagrado, das heilige Tal der Inkas: Chinchero; Moray, das Laboratorium der Inkas; Salineras bei Maras. Ollantaytambo: Ruinen und Reitausflug.

Reisebericht Peru 2006
Valle Sagrado – Das heilige Tal der Inkas

10.03.2006

Liebe Freunde,

der letzte Bericht endete in Cusco, der ehemaligen Hauptstadt des Inkareiches. Am nächsten Morgen haben wir wieder unser kleines Marschgepäck geschnürt, die großen Rucksäcke im Hotel deponiert und uns aufgemacht, das Heilige Tal der Inkas zu erkunden.

Erste Station war bei dem kleinen Dorf Chinchero, wo es einen netten See gibt (Lago Piuray), um den wir ein Stück gelaufen sind. Die Gegend um den See sieht aus wie das Allgäu: Weiden, Felder, viele Kühe, Berge drumrum.

Peru, Valle Sagrado (das Heilige Tal der Inkas): Chinchero
Bei Chinchero im Valle Sagrado, dem Heiligen Tal der Inkas, sieht es aus wie im Allgäu


Peru, Valle Sagrado (das Heilige Tal der Inkas): Moray
Moray: Das Laboratorium der Inkas

Dann wieder weiter mit dem Bus und mit einem Colectivo (das ist ein Taxi, ein ganz normaler Kombi, in dem außer dem Fahrer noch neun Passagiere mit Gepäck bis zum nächsten Dorf, Maras gefahren sind). Von Maras aus, haben wir uns eben jenes Taxi gemietet und sind nach Moray gefahren. Moray ist bekannt als das "Laboratorium der Inkas". Die Inkas haben sich her eine geographische Besonderheit zu Nutzen gemacht und haben drei Senken, Trichter, der größte ca. 30 Meter tief, rundum mit den bereits beschriebenen Terrassen versehen, um dort wohl hauptsächlich Mais anzubauen. Die Besonderheit dieser Senken ist, dass es aufgrund der Lage und der Sonneneinstrahlung am Boden dieser Trichter bis zu zwölf Grad wärmer sein kann als in der Umgebung. Es gibt sogar Gerüchte, das die Inka die Wände der Trichter mit Gold- und Silberspiegeln versehen hätten, um noch mehr Sonne auf die Felder zu bekommen. Der Theorie nach (und an dieser Stelle sei angemerkt, dass man nur seeeeehr wenig über die Inkas weiß und sehr viel oft umstrittene Spekulation ist) haben die Inkas hier den Mais an die Höhe gewöhnt, ihn so gezüchtet, dass er in den Anden angebaut werden konnte. Ohne Mais, vermutet man weiter, wäre es nie möglich gewesen, in den Anden ein so großes Reich aufzubauen, so viele Menschen (15 Millionen?) zu ernähren. Unser Taxifahrer hat uns ein bisschen rumgeführt und dann noch gewartet, bis wir uns alles angeschaut haben, anschließend hat er uns zu den Salineras gefahren, die ebenfalls von Maras aus erreicht werden.

Peru, Valle Sagrado (das Heilige Tal der Inkas): Salineras bei Maras
Die Salineras in der Nähe des Ortes Maras

An diesem Ort gibt es vulkanisch heiße Quellen, die irgendwo im Berg Salzlager durchlaufen müssen und als gesättigte, warme Salzsole ans Tageslicht kommen. Diese Salzsole wird seit Tausenden (?) Jahren in kleine Becken geleitet, von denen es wiederum mehrere Tausend gibt, das Wasser verdunstet und das so gewonnene Salz wird per Hand und Esel abgebaut und abtransportiert. Heute ist das Ganze zwar noch in Betrieb, spielt aber aufgrund der viel einfacheren industriellen Gewinnung von Salz aus dem Meer keine große Rolle mehr. Trotzdem ein schöner und eindrucksvoller Anblick. Der Taxifahrer ist umgekehrt, nachdem er uns zu den Salinen gebracht hat und wir sind durch die Salinen hindurch ein Tal hinuntergewandert und nach ca. einer Stunde wieder an der Hauptstrasse angekommen.

Busfahren ist hier so einfach, wie überall in Lateinamerika (wohl mit der üblichen Ausnahme von Argentinien und Chile), man stellt sich an die Strasse, wartet in der Regel nicht mehr als fünfzehn Minuten, winkt dem Busfahrer und wird mitgenommen, ziemlich egal wo man steht und wie voll der Bus schon ist.

Kurz darauf erreichten wir Ollantaytambo, wo man als normaler Tourist die letzte Einsteigemöglichkeit in den Zug nach Machu Picchu findet. Wer sich Machu Picchu ansehen möchte hat keine andere Wahl, als mit dem Zug dorthin zu fahren, selbst die Wanderer des Inka Trails kommen nicht um ihn herum, denn es gibt keine andere Rückreisemöglichkeit. Die Preise für eine an sich kurze Strecke sind abenteuerlich. Es fällt mir schwer zu beurteilen, ob diese Kosten gerechtfertigt sind oder ob da einfach erheblich Kohle gemacht wird, denn die Strecke führt wirklich abenteuerlich durch die Täler bis zu dem kleinen Ort Aguas Calientes. Doch ich greife mal wieder vor. Diese Zugstrecke wird übrigens von der gleichen (britischen?) Firma betrieben, die auch den Orient Express betreibt.

Peru, Valle Sagrado (das Heilige Tal der Inkas): Die Ruinen von Ollantaytambo
Die Ruinen von Ollantaytambo

Ollantaytambo besitzt sehr schöne Ruinen, die wir am Morgen mit einem Führer besichtigt haben. Im Allgemeinen lohnt es sich sehr, ein paar Dollar auszugeben, um einen Führer dabei zu haben, der einem alles erklärt. Allerdings sollte man vorsichtig sein und nicht alles für bare Münze nehmen, denn wie bereits geschrieben weiß man sehr wenig von den Inkas. Die Führer schnappen dann immer wieder das eine oder andere auf, was zumindest fragwürdig oft aber auch schlicht falsch ist (obwohl sich "falsch " und "spannend " nicht wirklich ausschließen). Bei den South American Explorers habe ich das Buch "Exploring Cusco" von Peter Frost erstanden, das von Reisenden wohl auch als "Die Bibel" für die Region bezeichnet wird (evtl. werdet Ihr es nur dort kaufen können). Das Buch kann einen Führer nur teilweise ersetzen, andererseits aber helfen, Wahrheit von Dichtung zu unterscheiden, und es nennt viele Details, die den meisten Führern unbekannt sind oder einfach übergangen werden.

Peru, Cusco: Falscher Inka Altar in Qoricancha
Die Rekonstruktion von Ruinen: Wie aus einem von den Spaniern bearbeiteten Stein (dem Fuß einer Säule?) ganz schnell ein Altar wird, wenn man ihn auf den Kopf stellt, und so die blutrünsigen Geschichten über die Inkas unterstreicht.

An dieser Stelle auch gleich ein Wort zu den Ruinen: Das ist alles sehr eindrucksvoll, aber kaum jemand sagt einem, dass diese Ruinen nicht nur vom Urwald befreit wurden, sondern dass auch oft erhebliche Teile wieder aufgebaut wurden. Das sieht natürlich toll aus, im Spanischen sagt man sogar "poner en valor " – "wertvoll machen ", aber es bringt auch die Gefahr mit sich, dass die Vorstellung der Re-Konstrukteure die Form beeinflusst hat, dass es vielleicht früher anders war. Ein relativ krasses Beispiel ist dabei in Qoricancha zu sehen, einem Inka-Tempel direkt in Cusco. Hier wurde an einer Stelle ein in den Kolonialzeiten umgearbeiteter Stein (der Fuß einer Säule?) verkehrt herum (!) aufgestellt, so dass er wie ein Altar aussieht, und dann die entsprechende Stelle noch als "Opferraum" ausgewiesen. Sagen tut einem das wiederum niemand, es steht in "Der Bibel". Jetzt muss ich mich natürlich darauf verlassen, dass diese Infos richtig sind.

Peru, Cusco: Inka Mauer mit Jaguar
Diese Steine sitzen nicht nur millimetergenau aufeinander, sondern es ist noch das Mosaik eines Jaguars (vorderer Teil) darin versteckt.

Zu den Ruinen selbst werde ich Euch jetzt nicht viel schreiben, denn das Wichtigste ist es wohl, sie vor Ort gesehen zu haben, ein Gefühl für die Sache, den Ort und die Geschichte zu bekommen. Bilder reiche ich Euch nach.

Viele werden es vielleicht ketzerisch finden, aber insgesamt beeindrucken mich die Ruinen der Inkas nicht ganz so wie beispielsweise Tikal, was vielleicht daran liegt, dass diese in der Regel nur knapp über 500 Jahre alt sind. Was allerdings absolut beeindruckend ist, sind die Steinarbeiten Inkas: Steine, die im Extremstfall über 100 Tonnen schwer sind, sind ohne jede Art Zement so genau ineinander gefügt, dass keine Rasierklinge dazwischen geht. Und die Konstruktionen sind so stabil, dass sie hunderte Jahre mit erheblichen Erdbeben größtenteils unbeschadet überstanden haben. Bei einfacheren Gebäuden haben die Inkas aber auch ähnlich gearbeitet, wie das wohl bei uns im Mittelalter gemacht wurde.


Peru, Valle Sagrado (das Heilige Tal der Inkas): Reiten bei Ollantaytambo
Reiten bei Ollantaytambo

Nach gut zwei Stunden in den Ruinen ging es zurück zum Hotel, wo bereits Pferde auf uns warteten. Für ca. fünf Stunden sind wir zu Ross unterwegs gewesen, durch abgelegene und beeindruckende Natur, zu weiteren Inka-Ruinen und auf dem Rückweg noch durch etwas abgelegene Dörfer. Leider waren diese Pferde nicht zu einem Galopp zu bewegen, denn ich wollte eigentlich auch mal wieder das richtige Reiten versuchen (siehe auch Reisebericht Tupiza). Wenn das in Lateinamerika nicht klappt, werde ich mich wohl irgendwann in Deutschland drum kümmern müssen.

Zum nächsten Reisebericht

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben nach oben