Hiking from Mirador Cruz del Condor to Cabanaconde. Descent to an oasis at the bottom of the Colca Canyon. Helpful advice on distinguishing llama, vicuñas, alpacas and guanakos and on right behaviour regarding the contact to those animals.

Travelogue Peru 2006
Colca Canyon – Part 2

Peru, Colca Canyon: Path from  Cruz del Condor<br />
        to Cabanaconde
Path from Cruz del Condor to Cabanaconde

After visiting Cruz del Condor Ingrid and I left the group and continued on our own. We had left most of our luggage in the hotel in Arequipa and carried only the most important things in our day packs. In four hours we slowly walked to the village Cabanaconde enjoying the nature. From the hotel we had a copy of a hand drawn map with the most important hiking paths between the villages of this part of the canyon. This map helped us a lot though we did not find the first path we wanted to take (of course there are no signs, paths are sometimes no more than a hardly visible trail between the stones). Please, whenever I write something about hiking in the following paragraphs, add things like “magnificent landscape, wonderful view“ because it would be very repetitive if I would write it every time. After just a couple of minutes we saw another condor flying some ten meters over our heads probably closer to us than any condor to any other tourist that day.


Peru, Colca Canyon: Field work with a team of<br />
        oxen
Field work with a team of oxen
 
Peru, Colca Canyon: boys with pigs
From left to right: Ingrid, pigs, boys and a grave yard


Peru, Colca Canyon: Descent to the oasis
Descent to they Colca Canyon Oasis. There are no roads. There are no means of transportation but men, mules and donkeys.
 
Peru, Colca Canyon: "Hotel" Oasis Paraiso
"Hotel" Oasis Paraiso

We had lunch in Cabanaconde and then went down 1000 meters in altitude to an oasis at the bottom of the valley which has a significant warmer climate than the surrounding area and where you can sleep in tiny cottages, eat simple but good food and relax in nice swimming pools. There is no electricity, no telephone. But in only two months there will be, in the oasis as well as in the villages on the other side of the canyon. Till now the three owners of the „hotels“ of the oasis agree that they don’t want any electricity in the oasis which would only disturb the idyll. I wonder how long they will keep up this spirit. We stayed in the „Oasis Paraiso“, which looked best to us, particularly because of their nice garden where you can find palm trees and between them lots of different animals: Sheep, mule, donkey, alpaca, chickens, dogs, cats. And I have never seen so many dragon flies at once.

Attention, I will now give you two important lessons:

First lesson: How to distinguish the different kinds of “camels of the Andes“.

There are:

  1. Vicuñas, the smallest ones which almost look like deer. They only live savagely, can not be tamed and run away as soon as a man gets close to them. Anyway they are rounded up once a year and get sheared. Their light brown fur makes the best wool.
  2. Llamas, anybody knows them, knows how they look like.
  3. Alpacas, nobody knows their name. They look like Llamas but have more fur in the face. Their wool is better than the one of Llamas and they taste better.
  4. Guanakos: they are so rare that really nobody knows how the look, at least I don’t.

Second lesson: How to interact with Alpacas? This lesion should also apply to Llamas.

Imagine an alpaca in front of you, ears folded back, baring its teeth and making strange sounds. Then there are the following two possibilities:

  1. Look into the alpacas face and ask “Hey, what’s wrong with you?“
  2. Turn away quickly and step back if possible.

Well I can tell you that option a. is not toooooo good. The alpaca was preparing for the famous spitting, that’s what was wrong with it. In my support I want to add that I already had petted many llamas and alpacas and none of them spitted. The spitting actually was a rough spray of alpaca salvia and half digested, stinking grass (they are ruminants!). Right into my face. Yuck! How gross. On the other hand I really had to laugh and I was on my way to take a shower anyway.

Peru, Colca Canyon: Alpaca
THE Alpaca. Just look at its very content face!

next travelogue

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben top

Your comments about my travelogues

Since May 2011 it is possible to post comments about my travelogues, e.g. if you visited the same place or were inspired by my reports or pictures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Please note:

Pfeil nach oben top

Fußmarsch vom Mirador Cruz del Condor nach Cabanaconde. Abstieg in den Colca Canyon zur Oase. Lehrreiche Lektion zur Unterscheidung von Lama, Vicuñas, Alpakas und Guanakos sowie zum Umgang mit solchen.

Reisebericht Peru 2006
Colca Canyon – Teil 2

Peru, Colca Canyon: Weg vom Cruz del Condor nach Cabanaconde
Weg vom Cruz del Condor nach Cabanaconde

An dieser Stelle haben Ingrid und ich die Reisegruppe verlassen und sind allein losmarschiert. Unser Gepäck war zum größten Teil im Hotel in Arequipa geblieben, wir hatten also nur zwei kleine Rucksäcke mit dem Nötigsten dabei. In vier Stunden sind wir ganz langsam und genussvoll bis zu dem kleine Dorf Cabanaconde marschiert, teils auf der fast genauso unbefahrenen wie unbefestigten Strasse, teils zwischen Feldern. Im Hotel hatten wir eine Kopie einer handgezeichneten Karte der wichtigsten Wanderwege des Talabschnitts erhalten, aber beim ersten Teil der Wanderung hat sie uns nicht geholfen, wir haben den gewünschten Weg (wohl kaum mehr als ein Trampelpfad, natürlich ohne Schilder) einfach nicht gefunden. Wann immer ich im folgenden von Wandern schreibe, dann denkt Euch bitte "tolle Landschaft, Wahnsinns-Ausblick" dazu, wenn ich das jedes Mal schreiben würde, dann wäre es arg repetitiv. Wir haben noch einen Condor gesehen, der nur etwa zehn Meter über uns vorbei geflogen ist und dann noch ein paar Kreise gezogen hat.


Peru, Colca Canyon: Feldarbeit mit Ochsengespann
Feldarbeit mit Ochsengespann
 
Peru, Colca Canyon: Jungen mit Schweinen
Von links nach rechts: Ingrid, Schweine, Jungs und ein Friedhof


Peru, Colca Canyon: Abstieg zur Oase
Abstieg zur Oase im Colca Canyon. Straßen gibt es nicht, einziges Transportmittel für die Oase und die Dörfer auf der anderen Talseite sind Menschen, Maultiere und Esel.
 
Peru, Colca Canyon: "Hotel" Oasis Paraiso
"Hotel" Oasis Paraiso

Mittagessen in Cabanaconde und dann Abstieg über 1.000 Höhenmeter ins Tal zu einer kleinen Oase, wo es aufgrund der besonderen Umstände deutlich wärmer ist als im Rest der Umgebung und wo man in ganz einfachen Hütten übernachtet, ganz einfaches Essen ist und in ganz einfachen Pools das Leben genießen kann. Strom und Telefon gibt es dort nicht, allerdings sind es nur noch zwei Monate, bis die Stromleitung fertig ist und die Oase und die Dörfer der gegenüberliegenden Talseite Strom erhalten. Noch scheinen sich die drei Eigentümer der "Hotels" der Oase einig zu sein, dass sie in der Oase keinen Strom wollen, dass der Strom die Idylle nur stören würde. Ob sie das durchhalten? Wir waren im "Oasis Paraiso", dass uns den schönsten Eindruck machte, insbesondere gibt es dort einen sehr gepflegten und großen Garten, wo zwischen Palmen die unterschiedlichsten Tiere grasen bzw. ihren jeweiligen Beschäftigungen nachgehen: Schafe, Maultier, Esel, Alpaka, Hühner, Hunde, Katzen. Außerdem habe ich bisher nirgends so viele Libellen auf einmal gesehen.

Es folgen zwei lehrreiche Lektionen, aufgepasst:

Erste Lektion: Wie unterscheide ich die unterschiedlichen "Anden-Kamelarten"?

Es gibt:

  1. Vicuñas, die kleinsten, fast wie Rehe aussehenden Vertreter. Sie sind nur in der Wildnis anzutreffen, also nicht domestizierbar und laufen weg, wenn ein Mensch in die Nähe kommt. Nichts desto trotz werden sie einmal im Jahr zusammen getrieben und geschoren, denn ihr hellbraunes Fell gibt die beste Wolle überhaupt.
  2. Lamas, kennt jeder, weiß jeder wie sie aussehen.
  3. Alpakas, kennt keiner, sehen aus wie Lamas, haben aber mehr Wolle im Gesicht. Sie geben bessere Wolle als Lamas und schmecken auch besser.
  4. Guanakos: Sind so selten, dass ich keine Ahnung habe, wie sie aussehen.

Zweite Lektion: Wie verhalte ich mich im Umgang mit Alpakas (gilt sinngemäß wohl auch für Lamas)?

Also, angenommen ein Alpaka steht vor einem, legt die Ohren an, entblößt die Zähne und gibt seltsame Laute von sich. Dann kann man:

  1. Dem Alpaka ins Gesicht sehen und fragen "Was hast du denn?"
  2. Sich schnell abwenden und auch möglichst zurückweichen.

Ich kann Euch sagen, dass (a) keine soooo gute Option ist. Was folgte, war das berühmte Spuken, das ich mir so aber nicht vorgestellt hatte. Zu meiner Verteidigung möchte ich auch dazusagen, dass ich bisher schon etliche Lamas und Alpakas gestreichelt habe, und nie was passiert ist. Das Spuken war ein grobes Spray von Alpaka-Spuke und halbverdautem, übel riechendem Gras (Wiederkäuer!). Mitten ins Gesicht. Urgh! War das eklig. Anderseits musste ich aber auch lachen und war glücklicherweise ohnehin grad auf dem Weg zur Dusche.

Peru, Colca Canyon: Alpaka
DAS Alpaka. Seht nur, wie zufrieden es drein schaut.

Zum nächsten Reisebericht

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben nach oben