Travelogue Canada 2005

In September 2005 I went to Vancouver on a business trip. I had the opportunity to prolong my stay a couple of days and I visited Vancouver Islands. I was impressed by the landscape I saw and by the people I met. Here are a couple of pictures.

Grönland / Greenland
I guess that this is Greenland seen from above. Nice to watch from the plane but probably too cold for me to visit it.
Canada: Vancouver Bay
The Rocky Mountains
Candada, Vancouver Skyline
Vancouver Skyline
Wicker Man
This is the "Wicker Man", being burnt at the end of the movie with Nicolas Cage. I visited the set as a representative of the German production company.
Nicolas Cage
I was so lucky! I did not only get a photo with Nicolas Cage but the Make Up department had just added lots of false bee stings to his face. Thus I have a photo standing next to this womanizer and can say that I am better looking than him. Well, sort off. No ironical comments please.
Canada: Vancouver Aquarium
At Vancouver Aquarium: This is most definitely the biggest insect I ever touched.
Canada: Vancouver Aquarium
Vancouver Aquarium: Dolphin Action
Canada: Vancouver Aquarium
Vancouver Aquarium: The belugas seemed to have at least as much fun watching us as we did watching them.
Canada, Vancouver Island: Whale Watching
Whale Watching off shore Vancouver Island. Well, I still would love to see blue whales but to date the orcas are the biggest animals I have seen. By the way: This is a lucky picture, most of the time you see less or nothing. Maybe one of them jumping far from you.
Canada, Vancouver Island
Vancouver Island: This is one of the last giant trees. Most of them have been cut down before one realized the worth of protecting those forests.
Wolf Eel
I also went diving near Victoria, Vancouver Island’s capital. The water was really cold but it was a good dive. There is a lot to see in those nutritious waters though you can’t see far. The funniest animal was such a Wolf Eel (I did not shoot this picture). You can feed and even stroke them … real squashy. Don’t they look like the old guys from the Muppet Show?

© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben top

Reisebilder Canada 2005

Im September 2005 brachte mich eine Geschäftsreise nach Vancouver. Ich konnte ein paar Tage anhängen und auch Vancouver Island besuchen. Sowohl die Landschaft als auch die Leute haben mich begeistert. Hier ein paar Bilder.

Grönland / Greenland
Ich schätze, das ist Grönland. Sieht von oben toll aus. Unten stelle ich es mir zu kalt vor.
 
Canada: Vancouver Bay
Anflug auf Vancouver, Blick auf die Rocky Mountains
 
Candada, Vancouver Skyline
Vancouver Skyline
 
Wicker Man
Wie gesagt, ich war beruflich hier, bei den Dreharbeiten zu "Wicker Man" mit Nicolas Cage.
 
Nicolas Cage
Wie schön, dass Nicolas Cage hier von der Maske mit lauter falschen Bienenstichen im Gesicht verunstaltet wurde. Da kann ich sagen: Schaut Euch diesen Frauenschwarm an, seh’ ich nicht mindestens so gut aus?
 
Canada: Vancouver Aquarium
Im Vancouver Aquarium: Sicher das größte Insekt, das ich je in Händen hielt.
 
Canada: Vancouver Aquarium
Vancouver Aquarium: Delfin Action
 
Canada: Vancouver Aquarium
Vancouver Aquarium: Diese Belugas schienen genauso viel Spaß zu haben, die Menschen zu betrachten, wie umgekehrt.
 
Canada, Vancouver Island: Whale Watching
Whale Watching vor der Küste von Vancouver Island, na, Blauwale wären mir noch lieber gewesen als Orcas, aber trotzdem sind das wohl die größten Lebewesen, die ich je gesehen habe. So viel wie hier, sieht man aber nur ganz kurz. Vielleicht springt mal einer in der Ferne.
 
Canada, Vancouver Island
Vancouver Island: Einer der letzten Baumriesen, es wurde fast alles abgeholzt, bevor man den Wert dieser Wälder erkannte.
 
Wolf Eel
Von Vancouver Island (Victoria) aus war ich dann auch noch tauchen. Saukalt, aber sehr interessant. Man sieht nicht weit in den sehr nährstoffreichen Wassern, aber das dortige Leben ist ganz anders als in tropischen Meeren. Am witzigsten war ein Wolf Eel (das Foto ist nicht von mir). Sieht der nicht aus, wie die beiden Alten aus der Muppet Show? Man konnte das Tier mit Muscheln füttern und sogar anfassen, total knautschig.

Zurück

http://volker.umpfenbach.de/
© Volker Umpfenbach

Pfeil nach oben nach oben